The River of No Return by Bee Ridgway

Title: The River of No Return
Author: Bee Ridgway
Genre: Fantasy / romance / historical fiction

Rating: 3.5 / 5

Goodreads | Powell’s

 

After finishing off a partciularly exhausting fall, I wanted to read something undemanding. I had a few books ready to go and I chose this one because I liked the title and the cover art. Not always the best reason to choose a book, and I almost put it down after the prologue because I just wasn’t feelin’ it, but I figured that I should at least give it 25 pages before giving up on it. I’m glad I did because it was pretty enjoyable and held my interest, and it was what I was looking for in a lot of ways.

 

However. It is a romance. Or at least very romance-esque. I wasn’t expecting that and then all of the sudden it was giving me flashbacks to the only romance I’ve read, Silk is for Seduction. There is nothing wrong with romance novels (I gave Silk is for Seduction a higher rating than this book), but I do have a hard time taking them seriously and I really wasn’t expecting or looking for that element this time around. Also, I came to the realization about 3/4 of the way through that there was no way everything was going to be wrapped up by the book’s end. It’s the first in a series…groan. Usually Goodreads is fairly diligent about marking which books belong to a series. Not so this time. And again, being part of a series is not necessarily a bad thing, but I was hoping for the satisfaction of some resolution, which I will not be getting from this book.

 

Some of the dialogue had me cringing; I was annoyed with the lack of intelligence on Nick’s part; there were some plot holes and contrivances; but overall I think the book was fairly successful. I liked it in spite of those things, anyway. Also there was nothing that jumped out at me as particularly problematic regarding sexism or racism. There were a couple things I picked up on but nothing that bothered me hugely.

Leave a Reply

