Sunday Post

Only one week left until I start school. I’m getting excited but it’s also nerve-wracking as I’m transitioning out of the job and accompanying lifestyle I’ve been living for the past five years. I’m trying to make the most of my remaining days of “summer”–taking it easy, mostly, but I will be going on a camping trip with a friend this week, and tonight I’m going to This is Thriller! (yes, it’s a Michael Jackson musical).

After finishing Empire, Peter and I had a hard time trying to find something to watch. We tried various shows. We watched two episodes of Penny Dreadful but, despite the neat sets, cool costumes, and interesting characters, it didn’t really do it for either of us. Does it get better? I don’t know, and the episodes were so long I didn’t really want to try. We also sampled some other shows–Barely Famous, a parody of reality shows (the first two episodes were pretty funny but the third wasn’t) and Backstrom, which I guess is a detective kind of show.It seemed like everything we were trying just wasn’t cutting it–especially after the highs of Degrassi, Empire, How to Get Away with Murder, and Orphan Black. But we finally tried Mr. Robot, after I stumbled across this post from Water Cooler Convos, and even though we’ve only seen two episodes it seems really good so far.

Some good literary links I read this week:
Homme de Plume by Catherine Nichols – Catherine shops her work around as Catherine; Catherine shops her work around as “George.” Guess who gets more manuscript requests, better feedback, and just more positive responses all around?
On For Such a Time by Kate Breslin and Writing the Holocaust by Katherine Locke – The Romance Writers of America decided to give an award to a book about a Nazi camp commander. The book, which I had not heard of before, sounds creepy as hell for all the reasons you would imagine, but also ends with the concentration camp leader converting the Jewish woman to Christianity. So gross.
The Charge to Be Fair: Ta-Nehisi Coates and Roxane Gay in Conversation – I haven’t read anything by Ta-Nehisi Coates (it’s on my list), but I do love Roxane Gay. This is just a short interview but there are some good points raised nonetheless.
It’s Not Even the Past: James Bowe Interviews James Hannaham – I finished Delicious Foods by James Hannaham yesterday (sooo good, review coming soon). Naturally I went looking for some interviews with the author and this is the best one I found.
✧ Okay so it’s not something content-y like the rest of them, but did you guys know that Pointe just recently came out in paperback? So now’s a good time to read it… I read this one a few months and I have to say it’s easily the best young adult I’ve read in a year, maybe more.

So that’s been my week. Up next for reading is probably going to be My Brilliant Friend, although perhaps I’ll change my mind 😉 I have a feeling that anything that comes after Delicious Foods is going to suffer by comparison.

Sunday Post is hosted by Kimba at Caffeinated Book Reviewer

9 thoughts on “Sunday Post

  1. We’ve had trouble finding a new show for us also. I welcome recommendations.

    Have a good week!

    readerbuzz.blogspot.com

    • Good to know, I’ll give it another shot. I know a lot of people who really like it, and I know sometimes the first episodes of a show aren’t the best. 🙂

Leave a Reply

