Sunday Post

So a new school year has begun (my first true on campus back to school in nine years!), and as I could have predicted my posts dropped off immediately. I’m still reading, and even reviewing, but sometimes taking that extra effort to format for WordPress is proving to be too much. I have posted three reviews over here this week though (and I have two more in the works–Go Set a Watchman and Zenzele), so eventually they will make it.

I’ve been experimenting with video reviews as well. Which is interesting for me, because generally I can’t stand watching videos. Unless I’m watching them with someone, they don’t hold my attention (this is especially true for a lot of Youtube-style, people-sit-in-front-of-their-cameras-and-ramble style, but is also true for almost all television or movies; I just don’t watch things alone, but I will watch basically anything if the person sitting next to me is too). So on the one hand I’m like, “why invest time in a media format I don’t really care for?” but on the other hand, I keep hearing how big Booktube is, and making a video is different than watching one. So far I’ve noticed I get self-conscious, but only if I’m trying to record something and Peter walks in the room. Pretty silly considering I wouldn’t care if he watched it once it was made—in fact I’d probably be like “look at this video I made!” But if he’s watching me record it? Yeahno.

And speaking of videos and television, I am sooo excited for Empire and How to Get Away with Murder coming back this month. :3 :3 :3 :3 Books are my preferred way of getting a story, but television has been growing on me in the last six months or so. I really like being able to see all the character development, I get kind of attached.

In book news, the first meeting of our local feminist book club should be taking place soon. Pretty stoked about that. And I’ve just started reading Uprooted with a very dear friend of mine. It’s my first “buddy read” experience and so far so good 🙂 Two chapters in and we’ve written about 1500 words combined. Pretty fun! Then of course there’s all the reading I’m doing for school, which I feel like I “review” in class, but it is probably worth recording here too.

Sunday Post is hosted by Kimba at Caffeinated Book Reviewer

8 thoughts on “Sunday Post

  1. Good on you for trying video reviews. I’d love to do some but am self-conscious about how much weight I’m carrying at the moment and how I’d look on camera!!!

    • Yeah, unfortunately sometimes when I’m rewatching the videos I’m like “Oh jeez, do I actually look like that from the side??” But I try to remember that most people aren’t nearly as critical of a person as they are of themselves and that if they are…well, they probably have bigger problems anyway.

  2. A feminist book club sounds pretty good 🙂 I personally don’t watch many booktube videos, unless some of my blogger friends posted them – not because I don’t like the media, but because I can rarely watch them in peace ! And I can understand how you can get self-conscious, it’s only human 🙂 Have a great week-end !

    • Yeah, it’s been a long time coming I think! My friends I started a “social change book club” a while ago but never really got it off the ground, then we heard that other people in town were meaning to start one, so we kind of combined forces and hopefully a good handful of people will actually show up this week! 🙂

  3. Good luck with booktubing! And I agree on TV- I didn’t watch for the longest time, but there are some genre shows I’m enjoying now so its nice to see that…

    • Thank you! 🙂 Re: TV i think there has been a surge in the production values and the kind of talent they have working on the shows. The shows I watch seem a lot more “cinematic” now than the ones that used to be on when I was a kid. But I like them more than movies because you can get to know the characters better and I love character driven stuff.

    • Yeah, there is so much to watch on Netflix. Unfortunately there’s a lot I want to see that isn’t streaming, but their DVD service is a great deal too.

Leave a Reply

