Bossypants by Tina Fey

Title: Bossypants
Author: Tina Fey
Genre: Humor

Rating: 2 / 5

Goodreads | Powell’s

I’m not entirely sure what this book was trying to be, what Tina Fey was trying to do with it. It’s not really an autobiography or a memoir; it doesn’t tell a coherent story. It’s bits and pieces from her life, with some material that’s like standup thrown in. I guess it’s “humor”—and although it did make me laugh, as it turns out, I think I kind of need more than that to really feel satisfied with a book. This was a super fluffy read, but as far as those go, you could definitely do worse.

Also I should maybe disclose I’m not really a Tina Fey fan. Not that I dislike her, just, I never watched 30 Rock or Saturday Night Live, I don’t really go in for movies that are comedies, and I know next to nothing about her. I have enjoyed Mean Girls several times but I don’t think I’ve seen any other movie she was involved with. She seems likable enough but I haven’t been terribly impressed with her comedy or its politics. Then again, “comedy” (as a film genre, live show, or format for a TV series), doesn’t often appeal to me very much. I usually think about how much time comedians put into a single joke, how much talent is working on a TV show, how much they get paid, how long they’ve had to practice, and I’m like, “This? This is the best you could come up with?” Honestly even without those considerations, most “comedy” is less funny to me than the offhand comments my friends make with no forethought. Of course there are exceptions (Tina Fey has not been one of them). Anyway, I digress… I guess my point is that, as someone who is not crazy about Tina Fey or crazy about “comedy” in general, this book was probably not marketed with me in mind in the first place.

It was a quick and easy read, and it did make me laugh in places. However, some of the jokes felt like trying too hard (see previous paragraph) or didn’t work so well in print, and some things were just unfunny/mean spirited. It seems to really lack substance but most people who are drawn to it probably won’t be picking it up looking for that in the first place. Mostly it was fun and funny.

Leave a Reply

