Mind of My Mind by Octavia Butler

Title: Mind of My Mind
Author: Octavia Butler
Genre: Sci-fi / fantasy

Rating: 4.5 / 5

Goodreads | Powell’s

Another great book by Octavia Butler. This is the second (in chronological story order, not in publishing order) in the Patternist series. Honestly it did not blow me away in the way that the first in the series did, perhaps because that book was written later in Butler’s career, or because it had fewer characters and thus a more “manageable” cast. Although this book features a lynchpin or two, there are a large amount of characters, most of whom we don’t get to know well. While I never felt it made the book disjointed, it was too short to really give them the attention they deserved. Then again, Butler’s writing was able to evoke what I believe it was intended to. Maybe I just wanted more 🙂 The first book also seemed to have more to say—or explored what it was getting at with more depth, maybe. Butler does introduce in this book many of the themes I’ve come to expect from her, notably power, domination, and gray ethical areas, but I don’t feel their treatment was as “meaty” as it was in Wild Seed. However that didn’t have an impact on the quality of the story, which was really good. It went by super fast, and it was enjoyable the whole time. There were no lulls or dull moments, but it wasn’t full of pointless action either. It was pretty much the perfect pace. I have to say I’m quite pleased with the ending and I’m very much looking forward to the next in the series.

Leave a Reply

