Monday Memes

So! School’s started and although there was a two week gap in my posting this time, that’s a much better job than I did last semester. Looking over my syllabi it seems I have fewer writing assignments this year than last–I’m hoping that means I’ll have more typetyping for book reviews instead :3

I have been taking advantage of the interlibrary loan system at my university…

…WHICH I LOVE. I’ve been ordering graphic novels through it because 1) they’re expensive (can’t buy them), 2) the public library has hardly any (can’t check them out), and 3) they’re quick reads on many subjects. Here you can see the ones I’ve checked out about ye olde women of yesteryear kicking ass. I’ve already reviewed the Emma Goldman one, and I’m currently reading the one about Rosa Luxemburg (which came to me all the way from Fordham University in the Bronx–a new record, just shy of 3,000 miles–and thank you very much to Fordham!). Lovelace and Babbage will probably happen this week as well since I’ve got to return it soon.

Other books that I need to read soon include Fates and Furies by Lauren Groff (my book club pick), a book by Karin Slaughter to complete one of my challenge tasks, and The Vegetarian by Han King because I got a review copy. If I get done with all of that and it’s still February…I’ll probably try to complete another task on my previously linked list–I’m especially interested in reading Harmful to Minors: The Perils of Protecting Children from Sex by Judith Levine and The Professor and the Madman: A Tale of Murder, Insanity, and the Making of the Oxford English Dictionary by Simon Winchester.

Books I reviewed on the blog this week:
A Dangerous Woman: The Graphic Biography of Emma Goldman by Sharon Rudahl
Pop Painting by Camilla d’Errico
And the Birds Rained Down by Jocelyne Saucier

And I’m almost done reading Harry Potter to Peter. It’s been at least a couple years since we read it last and there’s a lot he’s forgotten, which is exciting. “Who do you think sent the silver doe??” I ask him and “I don’t know!!” he replies. Heeee. So great. It’s going to be sad when it’s over.

It’s Monday! What Are You Reading? is hosted by BookDate
and Monday Musings is hosted by A Daily Rhythm.

2 thoughts on “Monday Memes

  1. I’ve been wanting to check out Lovelace and Babbage! And Fates and Furies is on my TBR, too! Hope you enjoy your new books!

Leave a Reply

