Octopus Pie: Volume 1 by Meredith Gran

Title: Octopus Pie: Volume 1
Author: Meredith Gran
Genre: Comics / graphic novel

Goodreads | Book Depository

Apparently Octopus Pie is a webcomic. I’d never heard of it until a couple days ago when I saw this book, but that didn’t stop me from quickly getting into it and becoming familiar with the characters. I saw a blurb that said it was twenty-somethings “navigating post-college life,” and while that’s not exactly me (I’m a twenty-something but I’m in college now after taking the better part of a decade off), I was curious.

This isn’t really a laugh-out-loud funny kind of “comic,” so people looking for belly laughs will probably be disappointed. However those sorts of comics typically don’t go over great with me anyway–I like stories, and this has stories. There are about 12 chapters, each with its own storyline. There is no overarching story, except maybe the development of friendship between the main protagonist Eve and her roommate Hanna. Still, the stories have continuity and seem generally realistic.

In my post yesterday, I described this book as being cute and having heart, and those are assessments I stand by now that I’ve finished it. The characters are not hugely developed but neither are they one-note. It was also uncanny how similar some of the things in this book are to people and events in my life. There were three things in particular that were eerily specific to events in my life, but many more that were fairly similar. That definitely helped the book resonate for me.

Overall it was enjoyable. I would read the second volume. And actually, for those who are interested in a sample, Meredith Gran’s website features most (if not all? I didn’t actually check) of the stories in this book here.

I received a review copy of this book from NetGalley.

One thought on “Octopus Pie: Volume 1 by Meredith Gran

  1. […] last week buuut I finally am linking it to my review! LOVED this book, completely recommended. ✧ Octopus Pie: Volume One by Meredith Gran       A sweet but not too sweet graphic novel/comic that I think might resonate with a lot of […]

Leave a Reply

