It’s been a while since I updated. What with midterms, traveling across the continent, lobbying Congress on sentencing reform, getting quite ill, and all the usual stuff as well, I just haven’t had the juice for reviews. I have been reading, though! I am unfortunately about three weeks behind on reviews though, I hope I’ll be able to catch up. And also, unfortunately, after six years of faithful service, my beloved Kindle Keyboard, Nimby, has been progressively losing functionality. Weird and almost instantaneous battery drains, not remembering my spot after every sleep, won’t save notes or highlights… I have ordered a new (well, refurbished) one and it should get here by Saturday.

Currently Reading

The Empathy Exams by Leslie Jamison
     A collection of essays, the theme of which I would loosely say is emotion / trying to understanding other people. I’m nearly finished, just one essay left.
The Little Stranger by Sarah Waters
     The book I’m now reading aloud to Peter–so far, so good.
The Gigantic Beard That Was Evil by Stephen Collins
     I got this through interlibrary loan based on the title alone and I started it and so far it’s awesome. Graphic novel/poem.

Recently Finished

The Art Students League of New York on Painting
      Wonderful book with many voices on the meaning and method of painting.
The Thrilling Adventures of Lovelace & Babbage by Sydney Padua
     Loved the footnotes; could have passed on the fantasy story.
✧ Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows by JK Rowling
     Finally finished our third (?) trip through Harry Potter. Sad it’s over. But what a great story, right?
✧ Fates and Furies by Lauren Groff
     Began as a bit of a struggle but I ended up really liking it. The more I think about it the more I like it; I’m sad it’s already been knocked out of the Tournament of Books!
✧ Race to Incarcerate: A Graphic Retelling by Sabrina Jones & Marc Mauer
     A little oversimplified for my tastes but a great introduction nevertheless.
✧ Kitchens of the Great Midwest by J. Ryan Stradal
     I thought this was a pretty decent book, especially for foodies, although I did find it a bit precious at times.
✧ Not My Turn to Die by Savo Heleta
     Memoirs of a childhood in Bosnia; Savo is Serbian and lived in a in a majority Muslim city when the war in Yugoslavia broke out.
✧ Lena Finkle’s Magic Barrel by Anya Ulinich
     Read this one super fast, I thought it was great.

Reading Next

Girl Culture by Lauren Greenfield
     I saw this one at my school library and it just looked too interesting to pass up. Collection of photographs and interviews.
Perfume by Patrick Suskind
     This is a Seasonal Reading Challenge book, for the task that focuses on Alan Rickman’s roles. It was almost a book club pick last October so I’ve been pretty interested in it.
Modern Printmaking by Sylvie Covey
     Latest review copy from Penguin Random House.
Evicted by Matthew Desmond
     I’m a sociologist (well, aspiring), he’s a sociologist, been hearing about this everywhere lately. And Netgalley approved me for it, so yay!

 

WWW Wednesday is a book meme hosted at Taking On a World of Words

4 thoughts on “

  1. I read Sarah Waters for my book club a few years ago and really loved it. I’m hoping to read another of her books soon. Happy reading and thanks for participating in WWW Wednesday!

    • Yeah, I read her book The Paying Guests and really enjoyed it! So far this one seems kind of similar stylistically–lots of description, vaguely creepy. Into it 🙂

  2. I would love to read Perfume. The film is quite remarkable and I can imagine it was incredibly difficult to convey the smells described in the book.

    I would also love to be able to fit in another Harry Potter re-read (I’ve read the whole series through twice), But I now think it will have to wait at least another 5 years until I can read them with my son 🙂

    Here’s my WWW: https://clairehuston.wordpress.com/2016/03/23/www-wednesday-23rd-march-2016/

Leave a Reply

