Here I am again, twelve reviews behind… and about to finish another two books. When school ramps up, I procrastinate and calm down by reading, but then of course actually writing reviews goes to the bottom of my priorities since I have writing that I actually get graded on. Oh well. Hopefully soon I will be able to write them all up. Also I’m working on a new way of interacting with and reviewing books, so stay tuned… 🙂

Currently Reading

Conversations with Claude Lévi-Strauss
      Slim volume of CLS in conversation with Georges Charbonnier, some of it is fascinating (some less so). I got it in my head to do a Library of Congress challenge which is why I picked it up from the library…
The Little Stranger by Sarah Waters
      Still reading this one to Peter and we’re in the home stretch… getting exciting!

Recently Finished

✧ Ready Player One by Ernest Cline
      Got a book club meeting for this one later today, which I am definitely looking forward to. I felt like there were a lot of problems with the book, although I will say that it was entertaining in parts and went quickly.
✧ Fun Home by Alison Bechdel
     Great graphic novel, wonderful writing. Highly recommended!
✧ Annihilation by Jeff Vandermeer
     This book was sooo good. It’s like paranoid sci-fi, creepy, and I just liked basically everything about it. It’s also really short and I think works well as a standalone, so if you want to give the Southern Reach series a try without commitment… do it! 🙂
✧ Girl Culture by Lauren Greenfield
     A book of photographs and interviews (along with a couple essays) on the titular “girl culture” in the US.
✧ Midwife of Venice by Roberta Rich
     Last month’s book club read, it’s unmemorable and shallow historical fiction.
✧ They Poured Fire on Us from the Sky by Alephonsion Deng, Benson Deng, and Benjamin Ajak
     First person accounts from three Lost Boys of Sudan. It was assigned for school.
✧ Separate and Dominate by Christine Delphy
     Feminist theory from France, the essays in here are from 10-15 years ago, but there are some really good ones.
✧ Authority by Jeff VanderMeer
     Second book in the Southern Reach trilogy. Not quite as thrilling as the first, but then it wasn’t trying to be. Still some very creepy moments!
✧ Soppy by Philippa Rice
     Such a cute little book! Adorable little graphic “novel”–you can flip through in about ten minutes if you don’t want to savor any of it–with great art.
✧ Just Mercy by Bryan Stevenson
     A black Southern lawyer goes over some of his cases, heavily featuring the exoneration of death row prisoner Walter McMillan. Highly readable account of racial inequality in the justice system, with a focus on death row cases and juveniles.
✧ Ethnicity and Race: Making Identities in a Changing World by Stephen Cornell & Douglas Hartmann
     A textbook for one of my classes this semester, it’s a pretty solid introduction to some theories and global perspectives on ethnicity (and race and nationality, but ethnicity is definitely the main concern here).
✧ Answering Questions with Statistics by Robert Szafran
     Okay, this is a statistics textbook, but I did read the whole thing for class and it was surprisingly good.
✧ Acceptance by Jeff VanderMeer
      Just finished this one today, it’s the final book in the Southern Reach series, which I’ve been tearing through! So good!

Recently Reviewed (well, reviewed since I did my last WWW Wednesday…)

Fates and Furies by Lauren Groff
Race to Incarcerate: A Graphic Retelling by Sabrina Jones & Marc Mauer
Kitchens of the Great Midwest by J. Ryan Stradal
Not My Turn to Die by Savo Heleta
Lena Finkle’s Magic Barrel by Anya Ulinich
Leave This Song Behind: Teen Poetry at Its Best
Evicted by Matthew Desmond
The Empathy Exams by Leslie Jamison
The Gigantic Beard That Was Evil by Stephen Collins
Perfume by Patrick Suskind

Reading Next

The Buried Giant by Kazuo Ishiguro
     Group read for the Seasonal Reading Challenge and I’ve just picked it up from the library today!
Pulphead by John Jeremiah Sullivan
    Trying to read more essays, and this collection looked good.
✧ …and more, I have nine or ten books checked out from my university library right now, it’s kind of ridiculous.

WWW Wednesday is a book meme hosted at Taking On a World of Words

6 thoughts on “

  1. I’m sorry to hear you had problems with ‘Ready Player One.’ I found it highly entertaining! I have a signed copy of ‘The Buried Giant’ that I need to get to soon! It looks so good. Happy reading and thanks for participating in WWW Wednesday!

    • I thought Ready Player One was very entertaining as well! It has a high readability/fun factor, but I thought it kind of fell flat with depth, world building, writing quality, etc. I enjoyed it while I was reading it though 🙂 I hope we both like The Buried Giant–that’s so cool you have a signed copy! Did you meet the author?

      • Yes, Ishiguro came to my area about a year ago and I was able to hear him read from the book. It’s a beautiful hard cover!!

        • That’s so cool!! Unfortunately my town is kind of off the beaten path for book tours (especially since our independent book store closed last year)–the closest stop for most authors is about 4 hours one way. I started reading The Buried Giant today, about 50 pages in and so far so good! 🙂

  2. I mostly enjoyed Ready Player One but felt it lacked stakes. For so much of it the characters were only interacting in the virtual world where they couldn’t really get hurt. At some points reading it was about as much fun as watching someone else play a video game. The last third – when they were operating in reality – was much better. I’m intrigued as to what the movie will be like.

    Here’s my WWW post: https://clairehuston.wordpress.com/2016/05/04/www-wednesday-4th-may-2016/

    • I agree. Also the “real world” is faring so badly but you get the feeling that it just…doesn’t…matter to Wade or anyone else. Which is weird. I mean I know people can adapt to a lot, but there was no awareness of social responsibility or anything, it was like “meh, we can’t do anything anyway,” although if everyone spent as much time in the “real world” as they did on OASIS, they could get so much done. That part of the book was really underdeveloped and since it was what the entire book was predicated on it, it made the whole thing weak. Thank you for your thoughts about it! 🙂

Leave a Reply

