Currently Reading

✧ Art Students League of New York on Painting
     Mostly done with this book, and it’s fantastic! I so lucked out when I got a copy of it, review coming soon.
The Time Falling Bodies Take to Light by William Irving Thompson
     I started reading this book months ago. It’s one of those books where it’s better to read in small doses so it sinks in more–it’s not really a narrative, and it’s heavy on the “mythopoetic” stuff, so it’s good to let it simmer. I started reading it again after letting it sit for a while and am enjoying it a lot.
Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows by JK Rowling
     I’ve been reading this one out loud to Peter for a while now and we are almost done, just a couple more chapters left. I have to start thinking about what we’ll read next!

Recently Finished

Red Rosa by Kate Evans
      This one was on here last week buuut I finally am linking it to my review! LOVED this book, completely recommended.
Octopus Pie: Volume One by Meredith Gran
      A sweet but not too sweet graphic novel/comic that I think might resonate with a lot of young people today (it did with me anyway).
✧ Killing and Dying: Stories by Adrian Tomine
      Another graphic novel/comic format, but this one is much less sweet, much more serious/”high brow.”
The Professor and the Madman: A Tale of Murder, Insanity, and the Making of the Oxford English Dictionary by Simon Winchester
      This one was kinda meh, despite the author’s effort to make it salacious. Oh well–at least it wasn’t too long.
I’ll Give You the Sun by Jandy Nelson
      I actually picked this one up in an effort to win some big points on my Seasonal Reading Challenge. It had been on my to-read list for a while. I didn’t love the writing style or everything about it but it was much better than I expected.

Reading Next

Fates and Furies by Lauren Groff
      The book club meeting on this got pushed back so I pushed my reading of it back as well–even though I did crack the spine and read the beginning. Anyway it’s definitely up next.
Separate and Dominate: Feminism and Racism After the War on Terror by Christine Delphy
      I saw this in my university library’s “newly acquired” section and couldn’t help myself. Whether I read the whole thing probably depends on how dense it is since all that school reading I’m doing too… but it looks promising regardless.
The Thrilling Adventures of Lovelace & Babbage by Sydney Padua
      Yeah, this still still needs to happen.
Harmful to Minors: The Perils of Protecting Children from Sex by Judith Levine
      This looks to be a thought-provoking book and I’ve wanted to read for a while now, but honestly I’m not sure if I’ll get around to it anytime soon. I’ll probably read the first chapter and decide whether or not to continue based on her writing style.

WWW Wednesday is a book meme hosted at Taking On a World of Words

11 thoughts on “

  1. I got Fates and Furies yesterday. I’ve only heard great things about it. I hope it will live up to the expectations. I’ll Give You The Sun has been recommended to me but it doesn’t appeal to me, and I have no idea why. Well, it happens sometimes! Have a nice week 🙂

    • I’m hoping it will too! I liked what I read but I wasn’t able to form much of an impression since it was only a handful of pages. I can definitely see why I’ll Give You the Sun wouldn’t work for everyone too. Not all books are going to appeal–and honestly I wish fewer books appealed to me because there are just way too many to get to!

    • It’s gonna be so great when you can read it to him. I actually read it outloud to my dad when I was a kid (10-15), and when Peter and I got together, he had never read or seen Harry Potter so I was like, !!! fresh meat! Harry Potter can never be new to me so the second best thing is experiencing vicariously while reading it to someone else… You’re gonna have a blast with your son when it’s time 🙂

    • Yeah, it’s too bad it didn’t work out for me. I’m trying to decide if my dad would like it (he loves his OED–the compact edition with the magnifying glass). Glad your mom did! 🙂

Leave a comment